Achievement demands respect

SEW-EURODRIVE FOUNDATION

2 Winners of the ERNST BLICKLE Award 2021 Prof. Dr. Roland Siegwart
3 The SEW-EURODRIVE Foundation is grieving for its long-standing board member Prof. Dr. Dagmar Schipanski
4 Jürgen Blickle is awarded the freedom of the town of Bruchsal To the press release
5 Jürgen Blickle receives the State Business Medal To the press release

Purpose of the Foundation

The SEW-EURODRIVE Foundation implements the purpose of the Foundation by awarding the ERNST BLICKLE AWARD, Student Awards, grants to students, and visiting professorships. In this way, the Foundation recognizes the initiative, innovative power, and true scientific spirit that the world of technological progress and so society itself thrive on.

The Board of Directors of the SEW-EURODRIVE Foundation is responsible for implementing the purpose of the Foundation. In a careful process, a jury evaluates research projects that are in line with the spirit of the SEW-EURODRIVE Foundation. Independent applications for the awards are not considered.

History

The SEW-EURODRIVE Foundation was founded on November 30, 1989 by Edeltraut Blickle. After the death of her husband Ernst Blickle in July 1986, she founded the Foundation in memory of his entrepreneurial success and his achievements with regard to the companies in the SEW-EURODRIVE Group.

 

SEW-EURODRIVE GmbH & Co KG is one of the leading manufacturers of drive engineering in the world today. The company produces gear units, gearmotors, industrial gear units, inverter technology, control technology, software, and systems for contactless energy transfer.

After the death of the founder Edeltraut Blickle in September 1992, her son Rainer Blickle took over the chair of the SEW-EURODRIVE Foundation. He shared her particular desire to develop innovative power and scientific spirit, as well as to recognize outstanding achievements and develop their content in the spirit of the Foundation. After Rainer Blickle’s death in March 2021, his brother Jürgen Blickle took over the chair of the Foundation.

 

From left to right
Edeltraut Blickle, Ernst Blickle und Rainer Blickle

Philosophy

For over 90 years, SEW-EURODRIVE GmbH & Co KG has repeatedly given decisive impetus to the field of drive technology. This extraordinary innovative power goes hand in hand with a culture of openness, responsibility, and cooperation. Ernst Blickle created this culture and his legacy is continuing to shape SEW-EURODRIVE to this day.

The Foundation sees itself as a broker between the aspects of free research, economic effectiveness, and social and ecological responsibility. The interaction of these three sets of values helps to reduce the fear of contact, to initiate critical discourses, and to develop courage to boldly look beyond your own horizon.

.

ERNST BLICKLE AWARD

The SEW-EURODRIVE Foundation honors outstanding results in science and industry with the ERNST BLICKLE AWARD. This international award recognizes figures in research and companies who contribute to the progress and the well-being of society through their scientific achievements and entrepreneurial commitment.

The ERNST BLICKLE AWARD is worth EUR 100 000. It is awarded every two years and is one of the world’s most renowned prizes of its kind.

Designers of progress: ERNST BLICKLE AWARD winners

  • 2021 – Prof. Dr. Roland Siegwart
  • 2018 – Dr. Cathrina Claas-Mühlhäuser
  • 2016 – Dipl.-Ing. (TU) Martin A. Kapp
  • 2014 – Prof. Dr. Leo Lorenz
  • 2012 – Dipl.-Kfm. Martin Kannegiesser
  • 2010 – Prof. Dr. Michael Rogowski (†)
  • Other previous award winners

Student Award

The young academic generation is the science elite of tomorrow. The SEW-EURODRIVE Foundation is particularly committed to supporting and motivating these young people with all the means available.

The SEW-EURODRIVE Foundation presents a Student Award worth EUR 2,500 for outstanding scientific work and projects in the fields of electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, and economics – perfectly in accordance with the motto, “Performance is worthy of respect”.

Selection criteria for the Student Award*:

  • Master’s or diploma theses
  • The degree course was completed in the previous semester.
  • The final examination/examination was passed with at least the grade “Very good”.
  • The degree course was completed in a reasonable period of time.

 

*Independent applications for the awards are not considered.

Board of Directors of the Foundation

Jürgen Blickle

Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Foundation, Managing Partner of the SEW-EURODRIVE Group

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Anette Weisbecker

Deputy Director of the Institute at the Fraunhofer IAO and the IAT at the University of Stuttgart

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Dr. h.c. mult.
Fritz Klocke

Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Foundation, the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) at the RWTH Aachen

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Dr. h.c. mult.
Sigmar Wittig

Chairman of the Board of Management of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) (retired), Cologne
Institute of Thermal Turbomachinery (ITS) at KIT, Karlsruhe

Prof. Dr. Johann W. Kolar

Director of the Power Electronic Systems Laboratory at ETH Zurich

Contact

Ernst-Blickle-Straße 42
76646 Bruchsal

Tel.: +49 (0) 7251 75-0
Fax +49 (0) 7251 75-501021

kontakt@sew-eurodrive-stiftung.de

Leistung verdient Respekt

SEW-EURODRIVE-STIFTUNG

2 ERNST-BLICKLE-Preisträger 2021 Prof. Dr. Roland Siegwart
3 Die SEW-EURODRIVE-Stiftung trauert um ihr langjähriges Vorstandsmitglied Prof. Dr. Dagmar Schipanski
4 Jürgen Blickle ist Ehrenbürger der Stadt Bruchsal Zur Pressemeldung
5 Jürgen Blickle erhält Wirtschaftsmedaille des Landes Zur Pressemeldung

Stiftungszweck

Die SEW-EURODRIVE-Stiftung verwirklicht den Stiftungszweck durch die Vergabe des ERNST-BLICKLE-PREISES, von Studienpreisen, von Stipendien an Studierende sowie für Gastprofessuren. Auf diese Weise würdigt die Stiftung Eigeninitiative, Innovationskraft und echten Wissenschaftsgeist, von dem die Welt des technischen Fortschritts und damit die Gesellschaft lebt.

Für die Durchführung des Stiftungszwecks ist der Vorstand der SEW-EURODRIVE-Stiftung verantwortlich. In einem sorgfältigen Verfahren evaluiert eine Jury Forschungsarbeiten, welche dem Geist der SEW-EURODRIVE-Stiftung entsprechen. Eigenständige Bewerbungen für die Auszeichnungen sind nicht vorgesehen.

 

Historie

Die SEW-EURODRIVE-Stiftung wurde am 30. November 1989 von Edeltraut Blickle gegründet. Nach dem Tod ihres Ehemannes Ernst Blickle im Juli 1986 hat Sie zum Gedenken an seine unternehmerische Leistung und seine Verdienste um die Unternehmen der SEW-EURODRIVE-Gruppe die Stiftung ins Leben gerufen.

 

Die SEW-EURODRIVE GmbH & Co KG gehört zu den weltweit führenden Herstellern von Antriebstechnik. Das Unternehmen produziert Getriebe, Getriebemotoren, Industriegetriebe, Umrichtertechnik und Steuerungstechnik, Software und Systeme zur kontaktlosen Energieübertragung. 

Nach dem Tod der Stifterin Edeltraud Blickle im September 1992 übernahm ihr Sohn Rainer Blickle den Vorsitz der SEW-EURODRIVE-Stiftung. Auch ihm war es ein besonderes Anliegen, Innovationskraft und Wissenschaftsgeist sowie die Würdigung herausragender Leistungen inhaltlich auszugestalten und im Geiste der Stiftung weiterzuentwickeln. Nach dem Tod von Rainer Blickle im März 2021 übernahm dessen Bruder Jürgen Blickle den Stiftungsvorsitz.

 

Von links nach rechts
Edeltraut Blickle, Ernst Blickle und Rainer Blickle

Philosophie

Seit über 90 Jahren hat die SEW-EURODRIVE GmbH & Co KG der Antriebstechnik immer wieder entscheidende Impulse gegeben. Diese außerordentliche Innovationskraft geht einher mit einer Kultur der Offenheit, der Verantwortung und des Miteinanders. Ernst Blickle hat diese Kultur geprägt und sein Erbe formt die SEW-EURODRIVE bis heute.

Die Stiftung sieht sich als Mittler zwischen freier Forschung, ökonomischer Effektivität und sozial-ökologischer Verantwortung. Das Zusammenspiel dieser drei Wertebereiche fördert den Abbau von Berührungsängsten, den Anstoß zu kritischen Diskursen und den Mut, unverdrossen über den eigenen Tellerrand hinauszublicken.

.

ERNST-BLICKLE-PREIS

Die SEW-EURODRIVE-Stiftung würdigt mit dem ERNST-BLICKLE-PREIS herausragende Ergebnisse in Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Diese internationale Auszeichnung ehrt Persönlichkeiten in Forschung und Unternehmen, die mit ihrer wissenschaftlichen Leistung und ihrem unternehmerischen Engagement zum Fortschritt und zum Wohle der Gesellschaft beitragen.

Der ERNST-BLICKLE-PREIS ist mit 100.000 Euro dotiert. Er wird alle zwei Jahre vergeben und zählt zu den weltweit höchsten Preisen seiner Art.

Gestalter des Fortschritts: ERNST-BLICKLE-Preisträger

  • 2021 – Prof. Dr. Roland Siegwart
  • 2018 – Dr. Cathrina Claas-Mühlhäuser
  • 2016 – Dipl.-Ing. (TU) Martin A. Kapp
  • 2014 – Prof. Dr. Leo Lorenz
  • 2012 – Dipl.-Kfm. Martin Kannegiesser
  • 2010 – Prof. Dr. Michael Rogowski (†)
  • weitere bisherigen Preisträger

Studienpreis

Der akademische Nachwuchs ist die Wissenschaftselite von morgen. Der SEW-EURODRIVE-Stiftung ist es ein ganz besonderes Anliegen, diese jungen Menschen mit allen zur Verfügung stehenden Mitteln zu fördern und zu motivieren.

Mit dem Studienpreis in Höhe von 2.500 Euro zeichnet die SEW-EURODRIVE-Stiftung herausragende wissenschaftliche Arbeiten und Projekte in den Fachrichtungen Elektrotechnik, Maschinenbau und Wirtschaftswissenschaften aus - ganz nach dem Motto „Leistung verdient Respekt“.

Auswahlkriterien für den Studienpreis*:

  • Master- oder Diplomarbeiten.
  • Das Studium wurde im zurückliegenden Semester abgeschlossen.
  • Die Hauptprüfung/Prüfung wurde mindestens mit dem Prädikat „sehr gut“ bestanden.
  • Das Studium wurde in einer angemessenen Zeit absolviert.

 

*Eigenständige Bewerbungen für die Auszeichnungen sind nicht vorgesehen.

 

Stiftungsvorstand

Jürgen Blickle

Vorsitzender des Stiftungsvorstands, Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der SEW-EURODRIVE-Gruppe

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Anette Weisbecker

Stellvertretende Institutsleiterin am Fraunhofer IAO und am IAT der Universität Stuttgart

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Dr. h.c. mult.
Fritz Klocke

Stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Stiftungsvorstands, Laboratorium für Werkzeugmaschinen und Betriebslehre WZL an der RWTH Aachen

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Dr. h.c. mult.
Sigmar Wittig

Vorsitzender des Vorstands des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) a. D., Köln
Institut für Thermische Strömungsmaschinen ITS am KIT Karlsruhe

Prof. Dr. Johann W. Kolar

Director Power Electronic Systems Laboratory an der ETH Zürich

Kontakt

Ernst-Blickle-Straße 42
76646 Bruchsal

Telefon +49 (0) 7251 75-0
Fax +49 (0) 7251 75-501021

kontakt@sew-eurodrive-stiftung.de